Make Aheads Part 3: Oatmeal Balls

Today, here’s another super duper easy breakfast make ahead.  I love this one because I can make it at the same time I’m making breakfast for myself.  Usually, I double up on make aheads.  I do these on the same day I do apple bites since I already have a huge pile of cubed apples to work with.

I want to apologize in advance for the especially unappetizing photos that accompany this post.  It’s embarrassing.  I’m a photographer.  I know better. But you know what??  I’m 7 friggin months pregnant running around after a almost 15 month old.  I’d love to take pretty, appetizing food pics… but…*rumage* *rumage*  Where’s my Sweet Brown meme?

Screen Shot 2013-01-20 at 10.26.50 PM

Yep.  That about sums it up.

So back to the oatmeal balls.  Hubby and I went on a health food kick in 2010.  A complete overhaul of our diet.  For Lent, we decided that we were going to eat vegan, and that we’d make it 80% raw vegan at that.  And it was ridiculous how HEALTHY we were during that time!  Seriously.  I dropped some poundage, he gained some poundage (things that both of us needed to do), we didn’t get sick, my husband’s terrible allergies disappeared completely, and I got pregnant… something that I’d always been told would be difficult for me when the time came to try.  Not difficult.  Had an oopsy baby!  We were so healthy that instead of keeping it up for Lent (40 days), we actually ate that way exclusively for a year.  Then life happened and we want to get back to it someday.  But a few of the practices we adopted during that year have permanently stuck.

I started making my own raw muesli.  It’s like a raw breakfast cereal, and it’s delicious.  It also happens to make the most incredible base for the BEST oatmeal on the PLANET.  The day I went into labor with Bubs, I made a giant pot of this oatmeal in the morning, and it kept me full until he was born at 10pm that night.  It’s magic.

UnSuperMomma Raw Muesli

  • 4 cups raw oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup craisins
  • 2 Tbsp ground flax seed
  • cinnamon to taste

Put all ingredients in a plastic storage container and shake to combine.  THE END.

You can make the muesli and just pour the milk of your choice over it (I love almond milk) and enjoy it as is.  A chopped banana is a great addition.  To turn it into oatmeal:

  • Put 1 cup of muesli into a saucepan with an equal amount of milk
  • Add a squirt of agave nectar
  • Add one chopped apple
  • Bring mixture to a boil
  • Remove from heat and cover
  • Let sit until oatmeal is cooked through and apples are soft

photo-5

mmmmmmmm….. unappetizing oatmeal vomit photo….

You can eat it like this now, and/or you can turn it into oatmeal balls.

To do that, uncover it after it is cooked and let it cool completely.  I like to leave it on the stove and forget about it until Bubs goes down for the morning nap.  Then, I plop spoonfuls of it on a wax paper lined baking sheet and freeze.  BAM!  Done!

photo-4

When the balls are frozen through, plunk them in a Ziplock sack in the freezer.  To heat, put 2 or 3 in a bowl and nuke for 15 sec at a time.  Test them to make sure the fruit isn’t too hot for your little one.  The raisins get a little molten pretty quickly.  That could be sad.

Enjoy your sack of BALLS.

I know.  I’m hilarious.

One thought on “Make Aheads Part 3: Oatmeal Balls

  1. Pingback: Ain’t Nobody Got Time for That: Runners Edition - Claim Your Journey

Leave a Reply

