Make Aheads Part 1: Apple Bites

I thought I’d start things off with a practical little series I’ll call “Make Aheads.”  I have made Bub’s baby food from the very beginning.  He’s a great little eater, and I really enjoyed making his first foods.  Now that he’s in the toddler phase, though, things are getting way more complicated than they used to be.

We try to sit down and eat dinner as a family, but his bedtime is 6 pm, and I like it that way.  On days when we both worked, I’d go pick him up from daycare at 4:30, walk in the door around 5, throw some random food at him, and head to the bedtime routine.  I realized we had a problem when one night he had a cheese stick, banana, toast, and pickles for dinner.  I’m not proud of that.

So I set out to fix it.  I get to be home with him for 3 weekdays, so I made a goal to fix one freeze-ahead dish per day.  I’m starting things off really easy.  Apple Bites are a great side dish for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, and they make a fantastic snack.  They are nice and easy for my little 6 tooth man to chew, and easy for him to pick up out of a bowl.

I got the idea when I was at Ralph’s for some baby food to keep in the pantry for emergencies.  I saw this:

Image

And I was like, “$1.50????  I think I can make that one.”  So. I. Did.

Image

Apple Bites

Finely dice 4 apples.

Steam apples in a steamer basket over a saucepan for approx. 5 min or until soft.

Save some in a tupperwear container in the fridge for easy snacking, or freeze in a single layer on a wax paper covered baking sheet.

When frozen, toss them into a ziplock bag.

Take them out 2 hours ahead of time (min) to thaw in the fridge before you plan to use them.

They’re a hit with Bubs!

Image

I’ve got a freezer full of great toddler meals, and I’m excited to share more with you as time goes on.  Happy snacking, kids!

Leave a Reply

